EXCLUSIVE // Listen to “Hold My Breath” off new collab EP by The Kraken Quartet and Nay Wilkins (Hikes)

Two of the most prominent acts to come out of the Austin, TX math rock scene have joined forces. Instrumental percussionists The Kraken Quartet are gearing up to release a collaborative EP with Adobo (the solo project of Nay Wilkins, guitarist and singer of Hikes).

It’s been nearly three years since The Kraken Quartet made a splash with their stunning Audiotree Live session, followed up quickly by their debut full length Separate | Migrate, but the band has been anything but stagnant. Their featured accompaniment on several tracks of the surprise Animals Acoustic release by TTNG pushed their jazzy sensibilities to the forefront of many new listeners’ minds

The new EP, entitled Backdrop, marks the studio debut for Adobo — seamlessly blending Wilkins’ signature vocal style and subtle, yet complex guitar riffs with the layered percussion that The Kraken Quartet is known for. Fans of Hikes will find a lot to love across five emotionally resonant tracks, as each spacious composition gently cascades through the folksy, the danceable, and the downright powerful.

Listen to the first single, ‘Hold My Breath’ above and look out for the full release in the coming months.

Backdrop is out on the 3rd of April. You can pre-order it right now through Bandcamp.